Gonzalez Wins Rainy MX-5 Cup Season Opener at Daytona

Teams in the Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich® Tires had to contend with a wet Daytona International Raceway to kick off the 2022 season. In typical MX-5 Cup fashion, the 45-minute race came down to a four-wide, door-to-door sprint to the finish line. That sprint was won by Tyler Gonzalez (No. 51 Copeland Motorsports).

The first Mazda MX-5 Cup race of the season was an exercise in car control. Rain and cold temperatures made for a very slick race track and the 31 cars created a haze of spray as they took the green flag.

Sam Paley (No. 28 McCumbee McAleer Racing) started from the pole, but as the field fanned out into Turn One, he fell behind in the shuffle of cars searching for grip. Instead it was third-starting Connor Zilisch (No. 72 Hixon Motor Sports) and outside polesitter Selin Rollan (No. 87 Hixon Motor Sports) who charged into the lead.

Read the full article at MazdaMotorsports.com